ICE & CEDAR

The best outdoor saunas, compared on every published spec

Cabins, cubes and barrels for the backyard — ranked on materials, power draw, and how much each manufacturer is willing to tell you.

Last verified · Ice & Cedar editorial

An outdoor sauna is two decisions: what the box is made of, and what it asks of your electrical panel. The listings are generous about the first and evasive about the second.

There is exactly one exception, and it is worth naming. The Albott infrared cabin publishes 2850W / 240V / 20A — the only unit in our survey of this category that states an amperage on the listing. Every other manufacturer here publishes kW at best and leaves you to discover the circuit at installation.

Where a unit publishes kW we compute the draw and the breaker the code requires. Where it publishes nothing, the table says “Not published” — because that is the truth, and because it is information you should have before you spend $4,000.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specifications. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Publishes its heater as 220V/6kW, which is the whole reason it ranks: you can size the circuit before the crate arrives.

Best overall
$3,199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Albott Outdoor Infrared Sauna 4 Person, 2850W

Albott Outdoor Infrared Sauna 4 Person, 2850W

The only unit in this entire comparison that publishes its amperage: 2850W, 240V, 20A. Everyone else makes you do the math.

Lowest power draw
$2,999.99 · View on Amazon

$3,499.9914% off

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

A cube rather than a barrel, which means full headroom and a flat wall against a fence — and the most completely specified structure in this survey: dimensions, heater, temperature range, weight, certifications and support terms are all on the listing.

Best cedar cube
$4,299.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

Canadian red cedar with the weather details spelled out — asphalt shingles, steel bands compression-locked at every corner, an EPDM base keeping the wood off wet ground. The premium cedar barrel here, and the only one at this price that also prints its heater rating.

Best for groups
$4,464.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Another barrel that states 220V/6kW up front, with a thermometer and stones included. Sits between the generics and the cedar brands.

Best equipped
$3,199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

#1Best overall

Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Publishes its heater as 220V/6kW, which is the whole reason it ranks: you can size the circuit before the crate arrives.

Strengths

  • Publishes the heater rating (220V/6kW) — most barrels do not
  • Waterproof tarpaulin and accessories included
  • Seats 4-6 for well under the cedar-brand barrels

Trade-offs

  • Wood species is not specified beyond 'wood'
  • Amperage still requires the arithmetic
Seats6
Heater typeelectric
WoodNot published
Rated power6 kW
Voltage240V
Amperage (published)Not published
Amperage (computed)25.0A
Breaker required (NEC 125%)35A dedicated
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#2Lowest power draw

Albott Outdoor Infrared Sauna 4 Person, 2850W

The only unit in this entire comparison that publishes its amperage: 2850W, 240V, 20A. Everyone else makes you do the math.

Strengths

  • Publishes 2850W / 240V / 20A — the ONLY listing surveyed that states amperage
  • Infrared draws far less power than a 6kW traditional heater
  • Finnish spruce, asphalt shingle roof, 12 carbon panels

Trade-offs

  • Infrared is a different experience from a traditional steam sauna — it is not a substitute
  • Interior volume is not published
Seats4
Heater typeinfrared
WoodFinnish spruce
Rated power2.85 kW
Voltage240V
Amperage (published)20A
Amperage (computed)11.9A
Breaker required (NEC 125%)15A dedicated
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#3Best cedar cube

Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

A cube rather than a barrel, which means full headroom and a flat wall against a fence — and the most completely specified structure in this survey: dimensions, heater, temperature range, weight, certifications and support terms are all on the listing.

Strengths

  • Cube geometry gives full headroom and sits flat against a wall
  • Publishes exterior dimensions (54 x 56 x 80 in), a TOULE 4.5kW/220V heater, a 32-195°F range and a 975 lb shipping weight
  • Approximately 2-inch Canadian red cedar panels and a two-tier bench — a heavier wall section than the barrels here
  • States its support terms: 2 years on the heater, 5 years on the wood structure
  • Ships from US warehouse stock in a reinforced crate, with CE and ETL listed among its certifications

Trade-offs

  • A genuine two-seater — the 4-6 barrels here cost less and seat more
  • Priced above the premium cedar barrels despite being the smallest traditional unit here
  • Amperage is not published, so the circuit has to be computed from the 4.5kW rating rather than read
  • Usually ships in two to three weeks, not days
Seats2
Heater typeelectric
WoodCanadian red cedar
Rated power4.5 kW
Voltage240V
Amperage (published)Not published
Amperage (computed)18.8A
Breaker required (NEC 125%)25A dedicated
Warranty24 months

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on September 18, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#4Best for groups

ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

Canadian red cedar with the weather details spelled out — asphalt shingles, steel bands compression-locked at every corner, an EPDM base keeping the wood off wet ground. The premium cedar barrel here, and the only one at this price that also prints its heater rating.

Strengths

  • Seats 4-6 in Canadian red cedar
  • Publishes a 6kW/220V heater and a 32-195°F range — the cedar-brand barrels usually publish neither
  • Asphalt shingle roof, double-reinforced steel bands and an EPDM rubber base are all named on the listing
  • 8mm tempered glass door plus stones, hygrometer, hourglass, bucket, scoop and wall lamp in the box
  • Publishes its room size (71 x 71 x 71 in), so you can check the seat count against the space

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive barrel compared here
  • A published 71 x 71 x 71 in room is tight for the 4-6 people it claims — plan around four
  • No warranty term and no amperage published, so the circuit has to be computed rather than read
Seats6
Heater typeelectric
WoodCanadian red cedar
Rated power6 kW
Voltage240V
Amperage (published)Not published
Amperage (computed)25.0A
Breaker required (NEC 125%)35A dedicated
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on September 18, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#5Best equipped

SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Another barrel that states 220V/6kW up front, with a thermometer and stones included. Sits between the generics and the cedar brands.

Strengths

  • Publishes the 220V/6kW heater rating
  • Sauna stones and thermometer included

Trade-offs

  • Wood species is not specified
  • Interior volume is not published, so heater fit cannot be verified
Seats6
Heater typeelectric
WoodNot published
Rated power6 kW
Voltage240V
Amperage (published)Not published
Amperage (computed)25.0A
Breaker required (NEC 125%)35A dedicated
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

Frequently asked questions

Traditional or infrared for an outdoor sauna?

They are different appliances that share a name. Traditional heats the air and the stones to 170-195°F and lets you throw water for steam; infrared heats you directly at a much lower air temperature. The electrical consequence is large: the Albott infrared cabin here draws 2850W at 240V/20A, while a 6kW traditional barrel draws 25A and needs a bigger circuit. If your panel is tight, infrared is the pragmatic answer — but it is not a substitute for a steam sauna, and anyone who tells you otherwise is selling one.

What circuit does an outdoor sauna need?

It depends entirely on the heater, and only one unit here tells you outright: the Albott publishes 240V/20A. The rest publish kW and leave the amperage to you — 4.5kW at 220V for the Duthss cube, 6kW for each of the traditional barrels. For the 6kW units, 25A of draw plus the NEC's 125% continuous-load rule points at a 35A breaker, though manufacturers commonly specify 30A and their listed instructions govern. Outdoor installations also bring GFCI requirements under NEC 210.8(F) that are genuinely debated among electricians — confirm with your AHJ.

Do I need a permit for an outdoor sauna?

Usually for the electrical work, and sometimes for the structure depending on size, siting and your municipality. We are not going to guess at your jurisdiction's rules. The electrical work on a 240V dedicated circuit is a licensed electrician's job in most places regardless of whether the structure needs a permit.

Barrel, cube or cabin?

A barrel uses less material and heats a smaller air volume, so it costs less to buy and run — at the cost of headroom and the fact that it does not sit flat against a wall. A cube or cabin gives full standing height and flat walls for siting. The Duthss cube here shows the other half of the trade honestly: it is the only unit on the page that will sit flush against a fence, it publishes its 54 x 56 x 80 in footprint so you can check that it fits, and it seats two for more money than the 4-6 barrels cost. You are paying for the geometry, not for the room.

How long does an outdoor sauna take to heat up?

Not published by any manufacturer in this comparison, and we have not measured it — so we are not going to give you a number. What is knowable from the specs: heat-up time is a function of heater kW against interior volume and insulation, which is exactly why the kW rating and the room volume are the two specs we chase hardest on every card here.

Related

Sources