ICE & CEDAR

HUUM vs Harvia: the same room, two very different stoves

The HIVE Wood 13 and the Harvia M3 publish the identical 212-459 cu.ft rating. Everything that separates them is in the three rows underneath it.

Last verified · Ice & Cedar editorial

The verdict

For most buyers the Harvia M3 is the right first stove: it is rated to the same room as the HUUM, carries a 2-year warranty and sits in a far lower price band. Pay the HUUM premium when you specifically want its 199 lb of stone — the only published stone capacity in our wood heater registry — for a softer, longer-holding heat, and the 3-year warranty that comes with it. If your room is larger than 459 cu.ft the comparison ends: HUUM has no bigger stove here and Harvia has two.

HUUM and Harvia are the two Finnish names a home sauna builder actually has to choose between, and the choice is narrower than the brand loyalty around it suggests. The stove each brand sells into a standard home room — the HUUM HIVE Wood 13 and the Harvia M3 — publish the same room range: 212-459 cu.ft. One is 13 kW, the other 16.5 kW, and they land in the same place because output and room rating are not the same question.

So this page resolves on the rows underneath that one. Stone capacity, warranty term, price band and — if your room is bigger than either stove covers — what else each brand has on the shelf. We have not fired either of these stoves. We own neither, and what we do instead is read what each maker commits to in writing and report where one says more than the other.

Head to head: HIVE Wood 13 vs Harvia M3

Four rows, two stoves. Every value is what the maker publishes; a blank is a maker who does not publish it.

HUUM HIVE Wood 13 - rated output13 kW
Harvia M3 - rated output16.5 kW
HUUM HIVE Wood 13 - room volume212-459 cu.ft
Harvia M3 - room volume212-459 cu.ft
HUUM HIVE Wood 13 - stone capacity199 lb
Harvia M3 - stone capacityNot published
HUUM HIVE Wood 13 - warranty36 months
Harvia M3 - warranty24 months

Where the two stoves actually differ

Stone mass is the real difference

HUUM publishes 199 lb of rounded olivine for the HIVE Wood 13. Harvia includes stones with the M3 and does not state how many. That gap is the single most consequential thing on this page, because the stone bed is the thermal battery of a traditional sauna: it absorbs the fire's output, holds it, and releases it as steam when water hits it. A heavy bed takes longer to come up and then gives you several throws of even, soft loyly. A light bed heats faster and spikes, then sags while the stones recover.

Neither behavior is wrong — they are preferences, and if you heat the room for 45 minutes before a 20-minute session, both get you there. But it is the clearest reason the HUUM costs what it costs, and it is the one variable HUUM lets you check on the listing. If you want to see how the rest of the category treats stone disclosure, our sauna rocks guide covers which stone types survive repeated thermal cycling and which crack.

Output is not the ranking you think it is

The M3 is 16.5 kW and the HIVE is 13 kW, and they are rated to the same room. Read that as a reminder that a wood stove's published output describes the fire, not the room: firebox volume, air control and the mass sitting on top of it all change how much of that output reaches the bench. The rough electric-side ratio of about 1 kW per 50 cu.ft does not transfer cleanly to wood, which is exactly why both makers publish a volume range instead and why the range is the number to size against.

Warranty, and what it is worth

HUUM states 3 years residential on the HIVE Wood 13; Harvia states 2 years on the M3 and nothing at all on the Legend 240 SL or the Pro 20. On a steel firebox that will see hundreds of thermal cycles that extra year is a real, if modest, difference. The larger point is the pattern: across this page, HUUM publishes a figure in every row and Harvia publishes one in some.

Price band

Qualitatively, the M3 is the least expensive stove on this page by a wide margin and the HIVE Wood 13 sits near the top of it, close to the two-room Harvia Legend. That is the trade in one line: the HUUM premium buys disclosure, stone mass and a year of warranty, not more room coverage. Current prices for all five are in the table above, read live rather than typed by us.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specifications. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductRoom volumeBest forPrice
1
HUUM HIVE Wood 13 Sauna Stove, 13kW

HUUM HIVE Wood 13 Sauna Stove, 13kW

The best-documented stove here and the softest heat. Its 199 lb of stone is a large thermal mass that gives a gentler, longer loyly than a light firebox, and it publishes what the others leave out: the same 212-459 cu.ft room range as the Harvia M3, a stated stone capacity, and a longer 3-year warranty.

212-459 cu.ftBest documented
$2,530.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Harvia M3 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 16.5kW

Harvia M3 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 16.5kW

The default first wood stove: an established Finnish heater for a normal-sized room, and the specs it doesn't need are the point — no volts, no amps, no circuit. It publishes a 212-459 cu.ft room range and a 2-year warranty, which is more than most of the electric side of this market manages.

212-459 cu.ftBest first stove
$1,100.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Harvia Pro 20 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 24kW

Harvia Pro 20 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 24kW

24kW of output for a medium-to-large room (283-706 cu.ft, 6-8 people) at a mid-range price, with a cast-iron glass hatch so you can watch the fire. It is chimney-kit compatible — but the chimney is a separate purchase and a real install, which is the wood category's version of a service upgrade.

283-706 cu.ftBest large room on a budget
$1,745.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Harvia Legend 240 SL Woodburning Sauna Heater

Harvia Legend 240 SL Woodburning Sauna Heater

The big-room option, and the only one here that will heat two rooms from a single fire — rated to 848 cu.ft. Harvia doesn't print a kW for it, so it's sized on room volume alone, but that volume is far beyond anything else on this page.

353-848 cu.ftBest for two rooms
$2,900.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Harvia KIP80B, 8kW

Harvia KIP80B, 8kW

The default Finnish heater for a mid-size room. Built-in controls keep the install simple, and Harvia publishes the room range — which most brands do not.

Up to 425 cu.ftBest if you skip the chimney
$1,269.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

#1Best documented

HUUM HIVE Wood 13 Sauna Stove, 13kW

The best-documented stove here and the softest heat. Its 199 lb of stone is a large thermal mass that gives a gentler, longer loyly than a light firebox, and it publishes what the others leave out: the same 212-459 cu.ft room range as the Harvia M3, a stated stone capacity, and a longer 3-year warranty.

Strengths

  • Publishes a 199 lb stone capacity — the only entry here that states one — for softer, longer heat
  • Publishes a 212-459 cu.ft room range and a 3-year residential warranty
  • Stainless steel body with a natural-oil finish; stones included
  • Needs no circuit — wood-fired

Trade-offs

  • Among the most expensive stoves compared here
  • Only 4 in stock when we read it (2026-07-26) — this one moves
  • Still needs a chimney, clearances and a fire to tend
FuelWood
Rated output13 kW
Room volume (published)212-459 cu.ft
Stone capacity (published)199 lb
ControlsWood fire (manual)
Circuit requiredNone - wood-fired
Warranty36 months

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 26, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#2Best first stove

Harvia M3 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 16.5kW

The default first wood stove: an established Finnish heater for a normal-sized room, and the specs it doesn't need are the point — no volts, no amps, no circuit. It publishes a 212-459 cu.ft room range and a 2-year warranty, which is more than most of the electric side of this market manages.

Strengths

  • Needs no electrical circuit at all — the whole reason to go wood
  • Publishes its room range (212-459 cu.ft), so you can size it before you buy
  • Established Finnish maker; ships with stove, door, ash box, stones and manual
  • 2-year consumer warranty stated

Trade-offs

  • Needs a chimney and clearances — the wood category's version of 'call an electrician'
  • Stone capacity is not published
  • 16.5kW is a fixed output; you manage temperature with the fire, not a dial
FuelWood
Rated output16.5 kW
Room volume (published)212-459 cu.ft
Stone capacity (published)Not published
ControlsWood fire (manual)
Circuit requiredNone - wood-fired
Warranty24 months

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 26, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#3Best large room on a budget

Harvia Pro 20 Woodburning Sauna Heater, 24kW

24kW of output for a medium-to-large room (283-706 cu.ft, 6-8 people) at a mid-range price, with a cast-iron glass hatch so you can watch the fire. It is chimney-kit compatible — but the chimney is a separate purchase and a real install, which is the wood category's version of a service upgrade.

Strengths

  • Publishes a 283-706 cu.ft range and a 24kW output — sized for 6-8 people
  • Cast-iron glass hatch: you see the flame, unlike a closed firebox
  • Stainless steel body; olivine diabase stones included
  • Mid-range price for the coverage; no circuit required

Trade-offs

  • The chimney kit is sold separately and is a real install
  • 24kW in a small room is too much heater — match it to the volume
  • Stone capacity and warranty term are not published
FuelWood
Rated output24 kW
Room volume (published)283-706 cu.ft
Stone capacity (published)Not published
ControlsWood fire (manual)
Circuit requiredNone - wood-fired
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 26, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#4Best for two rooms

Harvia Legend 240 SL Woodburning Sauna Heater

The big-room option, and the only one here that will heat two rooms from a single fire — rated to 848 cu.ft. Harvia doesn't print a kW for it, so it's sized on room volume alone, but that volume is far beyond anything else on this page.

Strengths

  • Rated to 353-848 cu.ft — by far the largest room coverage here
  • Can heat two adjacent rooms from one fire (rear and upper connection openings)
  • Finnish-made steel frame with adjustable feet and a soot opening for cleaning
  • Needs no electrical circuit

Trade-offs

  • No kW published, so output is stated only as a room range
  • The most expensive stove compared here
  • Two-room installation is a real chimney-and-clearance project
FuelWood
Rated outputNot published
Room volume (published)353-848 cu.ft
Stone capacity (published)Not published
ControlsWood fire (manual)
Circuit requiredNone - wood-fired
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 26, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#5Best if you skip the chimney

Harvia KIP80B, 8kW

The default Finnish heater for a mid-size room. Built-in controls keep the install simple, and Harvia publishes the room range — which most brands do not.

Strengths

  • Harvia publishes a maximum room volume — rare in this category
  • Built-in controls, no separate wall unit to wire
  • Sauna stones included

Trade-offs

  • Costs several times what the generic 6kW heaters do
  • 8kW at 240V needs a dedicated 40A circuit — see the electrical guide
FuelElectric
Rated output8 kW
Room volume (published)Up to 425 cu.ft
Stone capacity (published)Not published
ControlsBuilt-in
Circuit required45A dedicated at 240V
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

If your room is bigger than 459 cubic feet

This is where the brand comparison stops being a comparison. HUUM has one wood stove in our registry; Harvia has three, and two of them go well past where the HIVE stops. The Pro 20 publishes 283-706 cu.ft at 24 kW, sized for six to eight people, with a cast-iron glass hatch. The Legend 240 SL publishes 353-848 cu.ftand will heat two adjacent rooms from a single fire through rear and upper connection openings — the only stove on this page that will.

Both carry the wood category's usual asterisks. The Pro 20's chimney kit is a separate purchase and a real install, and neither publishes a stone capacity or a warranty term. Oversizing is also a genuine mistake rather than a safe margin: 24 kW in a 250 cu.ft room is a stove you will spend every session damping down.

The chimney is the hidden cost, the way the breaker is on electric

The honest case for wood is that it needs no circuit at all. No dedicated 40A run, no panel capacity question, no electrician — which on a backyard build far from the house is often the difference between a project and a fantasy. We put numbers on that side of it in sauna electrical requirements.

What replaces it is a chimney: the flue, the roof or wall penetration, the clearances to combustibles, and in most jurisdictions a permit and an inspection. That is not a smaller job than a circuit, it is a differently shaped one, and it is why the same buyer who wants a wood stove in a backyard barrel usually wants an electric heater indoors. The whole trade is laid out in electric vs wood sauna heater, and the permit guide covers what inspectors tend to ask for.

What if you would rather not deal with a fire at all

Harvia has the answer that HUUM does not, in our registry at least: the KIP80B, an 8 kW electric stove with built-in controls, rated to Up to 425 cu.ft. That is a slightly smaller room than the two stoves at the top of this page cover, and it comes with the electric category's own tax — a dedicated 45A circuit at 240V under the continuous-load rule. What you get for it is a thermostat instead of a damper and a 30-minute preheat you can start from the house.

If that is the direction you are leaning, the Harvia KIP 6kW vs 8kW comparison is the next page to read — the breaker, not the room, usually decides that one — and the full electric heater roundup puts the Harvias against the budget alternatives.

Frequently asked questions

Is HUUM better than Harvia?

Neither brand is better across the board, and the two stoves most often cross-shopped are rated to the identical room. The HUUM HIVE Wood 13 and the Harvia M3 both publish a 212-459 cu.ft range. HUUM publishes a 199 lb stone capacity and a 3-year warranty; Harvia publishes neither a stone figure on the M3 nor more than 2 years. HUUM wins on disclosure and on thermal mass. Harvia wins on breadth - it has a stove for a 848 cu.ft two-room install and the M3 sits in a much lower price band.

Why does stone capacity matter?

Stones are the thermal battery. A heavier stone mass takes longer to reach temperature and then holds it through repeated water throws, which is what produces a soft, even loyly rather than a sharp blast that fades. The HUUM HIVE Wood 13's published 199 lb is a lot of stone for a 13 kW stove, and it is the only entry in our wood heater registry that publishes a figure at all. Harvia includes stones with the M3 and the Pro 20 but does not state the capacity for either.

Does a wood sauna heater need electricity?

No, and that is the main structural reason to choose one. A wood stove needs no circuit, no breaker and no electrician - which on an off-grid or far-from-the-panel build removes the single largest hidden cost of a sauna. What it needs instead is a chimney, correct clearances to combustibles and a fire to tend. That is the trade the whole wood category asks you to make.

How big a stove do I need?

Published room ranges are the first check, and the rough-sizing ratio is about 1 kW per 50 cubic feet of insulated volume. A 6 x 8 x 7 ft room is 336 cu.ft, which sits inside the 212-459 cu.ft range both the HIVE 13 and the M3 publish. Add capacity for glass panels and any uninsulated surface. Where a maker publishes a range, use the range - it is a stronger statement than the ratio.

What does a HUUM or Harvia stove cost to run?

A wood stove has no electricity bill at all; its running cost is firewood and chimney maintenance, both of which vary too much by region for us to put a number on honestly. An electric Harvia does have a computable cost, and we work it out on our cost-to-run page from rated kW, session length and the national average electricity price.

Can I use a wood stove in an indoor sauna?

Only with a code-compliant chimney through the building envelope, correct clearances and, in most jurisdictions, a permit. In practice a wood stove is the outdoor-build choice and an electric heater is the indoor-build choice - not because the stove cannot go inside, but because the chimney penetration turns an afternoon's work into a construction project.

Related

Sources