ICE & CEDAR

The best traditional saunas, and the circuit they all need

Stove, stones, and water you can throw on them. seven traditional rooms compared on published kilowatts, seats, footprint and wood - and every one of them is a 240V appliance, which is the decision this category really asks you to make.

Last verified · Ice & Cedar editorial

The verdict

The Duthss 2-person cedar cubeis the pick, and it is for two people who want to plan the whole install before the crate arrives: it publishes its exterior dimensions, its 4.5 kW/240V stove, a 32–195 °F range, its shipping weight, its cedar wall section and its support terms — more than anything else here. Indoors, the HOSAUNA HY5 is the better buy and carries the longest warranty term we track in any sauna category. For a group, the ZONEMEL cedar barrel is the one that names its weather detail, and the Aoxun barrel is the one that tells you how much garden it covers. The budget pick is the OUTEXER 3-person traditional steam cabin— the cheapest genuine stove-and-stones room on this page, with a 3 kW stove that computes to a clean 20A dedicated circuit, and the price table below names the cheapest row at today’s live price rather than ours.

Almost every “best sauna” list mixes two different appliances and ranks them on price. A traditional sauna has a stove, stones and a bucket, and it heats a room; an infrared cabin has radiant panels and heats you. Only one of them can make steam. This page ranks the traditional half on its own, because the questions it raises — a wired circuit, a stove sized to a room, a wood species that has to survive weather — have nothing to do with the questions an infrared cabin raises.

The ranking criteria, in order:whether the listing publishes enough to plan the install, which here means dimensions plus kilowatts plus volts; whether it names the wood, because “solid wood” is not a specification; whether the stove makes sense for the seats claimed, which we compute rather than take on trust; and then price per published seat, from the live layer. Across these seven rooms, seven publish a stove rating, three publish a footprint, three name the wood and two publish a warranty term.

The finding that defines this category is the one every listing agrees on: the voltage. All seven of these rooms publish 240V, from the 3 kW indoor cabins to the 6 kW barrels. There is no 120V traditional sauna in this survey and there is unlikely to be one, because stones need real power. So the first thing to price is not the sauna — it is the run from your panel to wherever the sauna is going to sit. In a basement that is cheap. At the end of a garden it is not.

The second finding is a sizing one, and it is reassuring. On the 50 cu.ft-per-kW basis this site uses everywhere, each of the threerooms here that publishes a footprint has a stove rated for more cubic feet than the room’s entire exteriorenvelope — and the interior is always smaller than the exterior. Nobody here is under-stoved. The catch is that four of the seven listings publish no dimensions at all, so on those the check cannot be run.

Scope notes. If the shape is what you have already decided, our barrel sauna roundup ranks the barrels against each other and best indoor saunas ranks the rooms that go in a house. If you are still choosing between the two technologies, infrared vs traditional is the page that takes that apart, and best sauna heaters covers the case where you are building the room yourself.

We have not tested any of these; we own none of them. Here is exactly what we do instead. Every specification below was read from the seller’s own Amazon listing on the date printed on each card.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specifications. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductStoveSeatsWoodBest forPrice
1
Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

A cube rather than a barrel, which means full headroom and a flat wall against a fence — and the most completely specified structure in this survey: dimensions, heater, temperature range, weight, certifications and support terms are all on the listing.

4.5 kW2Canadian red cedarTwo people who want the full spec sheet
$4,299.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
HOSAUNA HY5 2-Person Traditional Steam Sauna, 3 kW

HOSAUNA HY5 2-Person Traditional Steam Sauna, 3 kW

The most completely specified indoor cabin here and the only one that publishes a wood moisture content, a bench width and a seated weight limit. It is also real steam in a room inside your house, which is a ventilation decision as much as a purchase.

3 kW2Okoume, 8-15% moisture contentIndoors, and the longest warranty tracked
$2,699.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

Canadian red cedar with the weather details spelled out — asphalt shingles, steel bands compression-locked at every corner, an EPDM base keeping the wood off wet ground. The premium cedar barrel here, and the only one at this price that also prints its heater rating.

6 kW6Canadian red cedarGroups, in a climate that tests the wood
$4,464.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Aoxun Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Aoxun Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

The cheapest way into a published-6kW barrel, and it now publishes its overall dimensions too — which is more than the cedar-brand units at this size do. What it will not tell you is what the wood actually is.

6 kW6Not publishedGroups who want the footprint stated
$3,199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
OUTEXER Traditional Steam Sauna, 2-3 Person, 3kW

OUTEXER Traditional Steam Sauna, 2-3 Person, 3kW

The only unit on this page that is a sauna in the Finnish sense — a 3kW stove, stones, and water you can throw on them. It is also the only one whose circuit is unambiguous, because 240V appliances are wired, not plugged, so nobody has to pretend an outlet will do.

3 kW3Not publishedBudget pick — cheapest stove-and-stones room
$2,699.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Publishes its heater as 220V/6kW, which is the whole reason it ranks: you can size the circuit before the crate arrives.

6 kW6Not publishedBarrel buyers sizing the circuit first
$3,399.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

7
SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Another barrel that states 220V/6kW up front, with a thermometer and stones included. Sits between the generics and the cedar brands.

6 kW6Not publishedBarrel buyers who want the extras included
$3,399.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What a traditional room costs today, per published seat

No price is typed into this page. Every figure below is read from our live price layer when the page is served, and the cost per seat is computed from it against each listing’s own published seat count — which is a claim about the bench, not a measurement of ours. As of November 7, 2026, seven of the seven picks have a live price and the cheapest stove-and-stones room on this page is labelled below.

PickStoveSeatsLive pricePer published seat
Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW4.5 kW2$4,299.99$2,150
HOSAUNA HY5 2-Person Traditional Steam Sauna, 3 kWCheapest today3 kW2$2,699$1,350
ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW6 kW6$4,464.99$744
Aoxun Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW6 kW6$3,199.99$533
OUTEXER Traditional Steam Sauna, 2-3 Person, 3kWCheapest today3 kW3$2,699$900
Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW6 kW6$3,399.99$567
SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW6 kW6$3,399.99$567

Prices as of November 7, 2026, read from the live layer at request time. Cost per seat is arithmetic on a published claim, not a judgement about comfort. #ad How we’re funded

#1Two people who want the full spec sheet

Duthss 2-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna, Red Cedar, 4.5kW

A cube rather than a barrel, which means full headroom and a flat wall against a fence — and the most completely specified structure in this survey: dimensions, heater, temperature range, weight, certifications and support terms are all on the listing.

Strengths

  • Cube geometry gives full headroom and sits flat against a wall
  • Publishes exterior dimensions (54 x 56 x 80 in), a TOULE 4.5kW/220V heater, a 32-195°F range and a 975 lb shipping weight
  • Approximately 2-inch Canadian red cedar panels and a two-tier bench — a heavier wall section than the barrels here
  • States its support terms: 2 years on the heater, 5 years on the wood structure
  • Ships from US warehouse stock in a reinforced crate, with CE and ETL listed among its certifications

Trade-offs

  • A genuine two-seater — the 4-6 barrels here cost less and seat more
  • Priced above the premium cedar barrels despite being the smallest traditional unit here
  • Amperage is not published, so the circuit has to be computed from the 4.5kW rating rather than read
  • Usually ships in two to three weeks, not days
Who it's forFlat-walled siting against a fence or wall
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating4.5 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)25A dedicated
Seats (as published)2
Stove kW per published seat (computed)2.25 kW
Exterior footprint54" x 56" x 80"
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)140 cu.ft envelope, stove rated for 225 cu.ft
WoodCanadian red cedar
Maximum temperature195°F
Warranty24 months

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on September 18, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#2Indoors, and the longest warranty tracked

HOSAUNA HY5 2-Person Traditional Steam Sauna, 3 kW

The most completely specified indoor cabin here and the only one that publishes a wood moisture content, a bench width and a seated weight limit. It is also real steam in a room inside your house, which is a ventilation decision as much as a purchase.

Strengths

  • Publishes 195°F maximum and a 3,000W stove with volcanic stones — a traditional loyly cabin, not a dry box
  • Publishes its wood species (Okoume) AND a controlled 8-15% moisture content, which nothing else here states
  • Publishes a 43.3 in bench width and a 265 lb seated support figure
  • Exterior dimensions published at 47.2 x 47.2 x 74.8 in, so you can check it against a doorway
  • 7-year warranty stated — by far the longest term on this page
  • Snap-lock modular panels the listing says two adults assemble without tools

Trade-offs

  • 220-240V: this is not a cabin you plug into a bedroom outlet, and the listing says so
  • Real steam in an interior room needs ventilation and a floor that tolerates water — neither is in the box
  • Publishes no amperage, so the circuit has to be computed from the stove's rated watts
  • 74.8 in tall before you add clearance, which rules out most basements with ductwork
  • No heat-up time published, unlike the traditional cabin below it
Who it's forAuthentic steam indoors, fully documented
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating3 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)20A dedicated
Seats (as published)2
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.50 kW
Exterior footprint47.2" x 47.2" x 74.8"
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)96 cu.ft envelope, stove rated for 150 cu.ft
WoodOkoume, 8-15% moisture content
Maximum temperature195°F
Warranty84 months

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on October 9, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#3Groups, in a climate that tests the wood

ZONEMEL Outdoor Barrel Steam Sauna 4-6 Person, Canadian Red Cedar, 6kW

Canadian red cedar with the weather details spelled out — asphalt shingles, steel bands compression-locked at every corner, an EPDM base keeping the wood off wet ground. The premium cedar barrel here, and the only one at this price that also prints its heater rating.

Strengths

  • Seats 4-6 in Canadian red cedar
  • Publishes a 6kW/220V heater and a 32-195°F range — the cedar-brand barrels usually publish neither
  • Asphalt shingle roof, double-reinforced steel bands and an EPDM rubber base are all named on the listing
  • 8mm tempered glass door plus stones, hygrometer, hourglass, bucket, scoop and wall lamp in the box
  • Publishes its room size (71 x 71 x 71 in), so you can check the seat count against the space

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive barrel compared here
  • A published 71 x 71 x 71 in room is tight for the 4-6 people it claims — plan around four
  • No warranty term and no amperage published, so the circuit has to be computed rather than read
Who it's forFamilies and groups, in a climate that tests the structure
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating6 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)35A dedicated
Seats (as published)6
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.00 kW
Exterior footprintNot published
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)Footprint not published
WoodCanadian red cedar
Maximum temperature195°F
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on September 18, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#4Groups who want the footprint stated

Aoxun Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

The cheapest way into a published-6kW barrel, and it now publishes its overall dimensions too — which is more than the cedar-brand units at this size do. What it will not tell you is what the wood actually is.

Strengths

  • Publishes the 220V/6kW heater rating
  • Among the least expensive barrels compared here
  • Publishes overall dimensions (85 x 72.8 x 91.7 in), so the footprint can be checked before delivery
  • Panoramic glass door and side windows, 8mm tempered glass, and stones, controller, thermometer, tarp and wooden step in the box

Trade-offs

  • Wood species and interior volume are not published — it is sold as 'solid wood' and nothing more
  • No external power cord is included, and the listing says to have the connection done professionally
  • No warranty term, amperage or maximum temperature published
Who it's forThe lowest-cost published-6kW barrel
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating6 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)35A dedicated
Seats (as published)6
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.00 kW
Exterior footprint85" x 72.8" x 91.7"
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)328 cu.ft envelope, stove rated for 300 cu.ft
WoodNot published
Maximum temperatureNot published
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on September 18, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#5Budget pick — cheapest stove-and-stones room

OUTEXER Traditional Steam Sauna, 2-3 Person, 3kW

The only unit on this page that is a sauna in the Finnish sense — a 3kW stove, stones, and water you can throw on them. It is also the only one whose circuit is unambiguous, because 240V appliances are wired, not plugged, so nobody has to pretend an outlet will do.

Strengths

  • A genuine traditional room: electric stove, stones, and a bucket and ladle in the box
  • Publishes 3kW at 240V, which computes cleanly to a 20A dedicated circuit
  • Steam means humidity control, the half of the experience an infrared cabin cannot offer at all

Trade-offs

  • 240V means an electrician and a dedicated circuit before delivery day, not after
  • The wood is not named anywhere in the listing
  • No exterior dimensions and no maximum temperature published
  • Highest asking bracket on the page
Who it's forReal steam at three-person scale, if you have 240V
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating3 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)20A dedicated
Seats (as published)3
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.00 kW
Exterior footprintNot published
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)Footprint not published
WoodNot published
Maximum temperatureNot published
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on October 2, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#6Barrel buyers sizing the circuit first

Breezestival Outdoor Barrel Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Publishes its heater as 220V/6kW, which is the whole reason it ranks: you can size the circuit before the crate arrives.

Strengths

  • Publishes the heater rating (220V/6kW) — most barrels do not
  • Waterproof tarpaulin and accessories included
  • Seats 4-6 for well under the cedar-brand barrels

Trade-offs

  • Wood species is not specified beyond 'wood'
  • Amperage still requires the arithmetic
Who it's forKnowing your electrical load before you buy
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating6 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)35A dedicated
Seats (as published)6
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.00 kW
Exterior footprintNot published
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)Footprint not published
WoodNot published
Maximum temperatureNot published
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

#7Barrel buyers who want the extras included

SunSwell Outdoor Traditional Sauna 4-6 Person, 6kW

Another barrel that states 220V/6kW up front, with a thermometer and stones included. Sits between the generics and the cedar brands.

Strengths

  • Publishes the 220V/6kW heater rating
  • Sauna stones and thermometer included

Trade-offs

  • Wood species is not specified
  • Interior volume is not published, so heater fit cannot be verified
Who it's forA published 6kW barrel with the extras included
Heat sourceElectric stove with stones
Stove rating6 kW
Voltage240V
Circuit required, NEC 125% (computed)35A dedicated
Seats (as published)6
Stove kW per published seat (computed)1.00 kW
Exterior footprintNot published
Exterior envelope vs stove rating (computed)Footprint not published
WoodNot published
Maximum temperatureNot published
WarrantyNot published

Specifications as published by the manufacturer listing, read on July 16, 2026. Blank fields are specs the manufacturer does not publish.

How to buy a traditional sauna well

Get an electrician’s number before you get a delivery date. This is the advice that would save the most money on this page. A 6 kW stove at 240V needs a dedicated circuit sized on the code’s continuous-load rule, and the cost of that run depends entirely on how far it is from your panel — which is a number only you can find out. Does a sauna need a dedicated circuit and do you need a permit are the two pages to read before you commit.

Read the wood line literally. three of these sevenlistings name a species; the rest say “solid wood”, which could be anything. For an outdoor room this is not cosmetic — it is the difference between a structure that handles a wet winter and one that does not. Best wood for a sauna explains why cedar and hemlock keep appearing and what the alternatives actually cost you.

Then plan the foundation, not just the footprint.A traditional room is heavy before it is full of people, and one unit here publishes a 975 lb shipping weight to prove the point. It has to sit level, off wet ground, with drainage. Outdoor sauna foundation covers the pad, and outdoor sauna in winter covers what the climate does to it afterwards.

And budget for the ritual, because it is not in the box every time. Stones are usually included and a bucket and ladle sometimes are. A thermometer and hygrometer almost never are, and in a room where you control the humidity they are the instruments, not accessories. Best sauna thermometers and best sauna buckets and ladles are the two short lists that finish the room.

Frequently asked questions

What makes a sauna "traditional" rather than infrared?

A stove and stones, and the fact that you can throw water on them. A traditional sauna heats the air in a room and lets you control the humidity; an infrared cabin heats you directly with radiant panels and cannot produce steam at all. Every unit on this page is an electric stove-heated room. That is a different appliance from an infrared cabin, not a better grade of one, which is why they are compared here separately rather than ranked against each other on price.

Do all traditional saunas need 240V?

Every one on this page does - all seven publish 240V, with stoves from 3 kW to 6 kW. That is the practical difference between this category and infrared: a 240V appliance is wired, not plugged, so an electrician and a dedicated circuit come before the delivery date rather than after it. The computed row on each card shows the NEC continuous-load breaker size derived from the listing's own kilowatts and volts, because not one listing here publishes an amperage.

Is a 6 kW stove enough for a "4-6 person" barrel?

On the published numbers, yes - and the arithmetic is worth doing yourself. On the sizing basis this site uses throughout, 50 cubic feet per kilowatt, a 6 kW stove is rated for about 300 cubic feet. The barrels here that publish an exterior footprint come in under that figure for their whole outside envelope, and the interior is always smaller than the exterior, so the stove has headroom. The honest caveat is that four of these seven listings publish no dimensions at all, so for those you cannot check this at home.

Why is a two-person cube ranked above a six-person barrel?

Because this page ranks what the listing lets you plan, and the cube publishes the most: exterior dimensions, stove rating, voltage, temperature range, shipping weight, wood species and support terms. If you need six seats that ranking does not help you, which is why every row states who the unit is for. Read down to the barrels - they cost less per seat than anything else on the page, and the per-seat column above computes it from today's live price.

What does "seats 4-6" actually mean in this category?

It means the bench perimeter can take that many people sitting upright, shoulder to shoulder, and nothing more. Nobody on this page publishes an interior volume and nobody publishes a bench length, so a seat count is the softest number on the listing. One cedar barrel here publishes a room size in its own copy that works out tight for the six it claims, and its own listing says to plan around four - which is unusually honest for the category and worth more than a bigger number would be.

How much of the spec sheet is actually published?

Across these seven rooms: seven publish a stove rating, all seven publish a voltage, three publish an exterior footprint, three name the wood, three publish a maximum temperature and two publish a warranty term, the longest of them 84 months. Interior volume: none. A listing that will not name its wood is selling you "solid wood", which in this category is a word rather than a specification.

Traditional or infrared, if I only get one?

Decide on humidity and on wiring, in that order. If the ritual you want involves water on stones and a room that smells of hot cedar, only a traditional sauna does it and you are committing to an electrician. If you want to be in heat four times a week with the least friction and a standard outlet, an infrared cabin is the honest answer and this is not your page. Our infrared versus traditional guide works through the difference without pretending either one wins outright.

Why don't you score these out of ten?

Because a score implies a measurement and we have measured nothing - we own none of these. Every figure above was read from the seller's own listing on the date printed on each card, every computed figure names the basis it was computed on, and every blank is a spec the seller does not publish.

Related

Sources

  • Seller listings for all seven traditional rooms (Amazon detail pages) — Every kilowatt, voltage, seat count, dimension, wood species, temperature and warranty figure on this page was read from the seven listings themselves, and each card links its own source with its own read date. Of the seven: 7 publish a stove rating, 3 publish an exterior footprint, 3 name the wood, 3 publish a maximum temperature, 2 publish a warranty term and 0 publish an amperage. Interior volume is published by none of them. Backyard Discovery's Paxton cedar barrel is in our registry and is deliberately not ranked here: its listing has been reported unavailable on three consecutive availability reads, and a pick you cannot buy is not a pick. (accessed 2026-11-07)
  • Sizing and circuit basis for the computed rows — The "exterior envelope vs stove rating" row multiplies each listing's own published dimensions out to cubic feet and compares them with its published kilowatts at 50 cu.ft per kW - the same basis the site's heater calculator uses. The circuit row applies the NEC continuous-load multiplier to the listing's own watts and volts. Both refuse to render where the listing does not publish the inputs. (accessed 2026-11-07)